The last story !!

I am not a fond reader and this is one fact that keeps me off from learning more. I  am pretty selective in reading and definitely reading by choice never happens to me! 

After the entire day of analysing human relationships and yapping all day with my family members, I needed to calm down. For a change I reverted to a book on acrylic paints. I finished some sixty pages and I quite picked up the tips. I watched a comedy series,brushed and while I lied in my cozy bed I agreed to read a short story to myself.

A story of barter of red marbles to some peas,apples and peaches. The grocer never claimed any marbles from those needy kids and yet filled their tummies each day. The little kindness helped them groom and turned them into fine gentlemen,who eventually stood by the grocer in his last hours!! It was a heart touching story. I instantly reflected on the big hearted poor grocer. The thought that gripped me was is success different from fame and which is more important?

I was watching an interview of some Indian celebs on television a few days ago. One of them when asked what did he think of the newer performers , the fellow confirmed ,” They may be famous but they are not successful.” The next episode in the same series had another celebrity mentioning that on his first successful film his mother said to him,” Son if others have not been successful,do not think they are fools.”

The last story I read left me into the same dilemma. I have always wanted to be famous and popular but now I was questioning  my own goals. There has been a change in my thought process and I am through a rigorous process of defining success and fame for a while now. The conclusions are suspended at the moment and making a choice has not been easy. I would like to mention here I haven’t tasted either so far but I want to choose one of them for my future. 

The many thoughts and attempts that break into my mind make me realise that I rather do less and fill myself with satisfaction than appear bigger yet empty. 

The idea of being famous is from the spectator’s eye but the fruit of success is from one’s effort. The audience will change after every show and one shall observe peaks and troughs in his fame but once successful within himself he shall stay successful for the rest of his life.

The grocer died with no mention in the society, no big mansion,no wealth in his banks but his little successes in that barter for marbles stood by him while he struggled to survive. He was an infamous vegetable seller but his story helped me write and discover. He was successful in making lost souls like me choose.

The celeb’s mother was confident that such a fame will not keep him grounded and hence she mentioned that his contemporaries are equally good!

May be I could say that true success is never followed by a fall and unless one fails several times no true success is his!! This is still processing and may be one day I will successfully define the terms:)

  

Leave a Reply

